Chalfont St Giles

Chalfont St Giles, the Green. And Milton's cottage is up the street to the right.

Chalfont St Giles, the Green. And Milton's cottage is up the street to the right.

St Mary the Virgin, Denham

St Mary the Virgin, Denham

After a week out of action with a puncture and a wonky rear wheel my bike is back on the road.

I’m having a hair-raisingly expensive pot of tea and a cookie in “The Deli” – not the capital of India – in Chalfont St Giles – and, no, I’m not talking about haemorrhoids.

It’s just down the road from Milton’s cottage, as it happens. Now the museum there was closed and I didn’t pick up a copy of “Paradise Lost” (though I’m sure I’ll be able to find the text on the Internet). What I did pick up was a paperback edition of “Vet in a Spin” by James Herriot, withdrawn from the local library.

So now I’ve got a souvenir of Chalfont St Giles, I’m going to jump on my bike and whizz off to Denham and Uxbridge…

One response to “Chalfont St Giles

  1. Ghaaah! Remind me never again to try to cycle from Denham to Uxbridge! There aren’t any little lanes to connect the two places. I had to blunder my way through a mess of main roads where the A40, A412, A4020 and the M40 all meet in a veritable mish-mash of motoring mayhem.

    At least I got to look around Denham Village. And I got to Uxbridge tube station before 4pm – that’s when the rush hours begin and I have to pay the full peak fares.

    It’s a sad fact that the daytime is getting shorter at this time of year. And that makes me all the more keen to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

