Cold, cold, cold

“Sing goddamn, damn. Sing goddamn!
Sing goddamn, damn. Sing goddamn!

Winter is i-cumin in,
Lhude sing goddamn!
Raineth drop and staineth slop
And how the wind doth ram
Sing goddamn!

Skiddth bus and sloppeth us,
An ague hath my ham
Freezeth river, turneth liver,
Damn you, sing goddamn.
Goddamn, goddamn, tis why I am goddamn,
So gainst the winter’s balm.

Sing goddamn, sing goddamn, DAMN!”

Ezra Pound

My least favourite time of the year is upon us. Dark mornings, darker evenings, lack of daylight, miserable weather, cold, damp, freezing fog… And don’t get me started on Christmas. I griped and moaned about it last year and I don’t like repeating my blog entries.

On top of all this, I’ve got a cold. Not a severe one, though. I’m not bed-ridden and feeling at death’s door. It’s just a nuisance, more than anything else. I’m constantly having to blow my nose and it’s nearly always blocked up. Honestly, where does all the phlegm come from?

It’s not as bad as it was at the weekend. And I’ve been spending the past few days feeding the cold and drinking lots of hot liquid. And it’s slowly clearing up. It’s the first serious cold I’ve had for more than a year and I am defeating it!

2 responses to “Cold, cold, cold

  1. This is the pits! The worst combination I’ve experienced for a long time of miserable weather and my own ill health. Don’t get me wrong, physically I’m in good health. All my limbs and my digestive system and my heart and lungs are all in good working order. But this cold is really bringing me down. And the dismal November weather is making it worse.

Leave a Reply

