A.D. MMXII

It’s the Year of Our Lord 2012.

And for the first time in who knows how long I have made a New Year’s Resolution: to read the Bible three pieces at a time.

Last November I bought a Bible to replace the one I had to leave behind in London. It’s the King James version. It is a special edition to commemorate the 400th anniversary of its first publication. In addition to all the books from Genesis to Revelation it also has devotionals throughout, plus maps of the Holy Land.

It also has a plan whereby one can read the whole Bible in a year, taking one or two chapters from three different books. For example, today we begin with Genesis 1, Ezra 1 and Matthew 1. And reading those three chapters didn’t take too long.

Now reading the King James version of the Bible can be difficult, especially as I’m dealing with a 400-year-old text that I’m not used to. So in tandem with the three pieces from the King James version I’m also reading their counterparts from the”God’s Word” Translation, which is the version written in late 20th century English.

And when on December 31st I’ve reached Revelation 22, then maybe I’ll move on to the Apocrypha.

By the way, 2012 is a leap year and my Bible Reading plan doesn’t have anything for February 29th, so I’ll have a day off.

Leave a Reply

